The Copper Club, Inc. to Honor Rea Magnet Wire’s Jim Vann with Prestigous Ankh Award


Contact: Kristen Kurtz
P: 917.561.2406

New York, NY (April 29, 2013) – The Copper Club, Inc. will honor Jim Vann, Chairman, Rea Magnet Wire with the Ankh Award, naming him a “Copper Man of the Year” in recognition of his role in building Rea into a leading company in the magnet wire industry as well his outstanding service to the copper and electrical manufacturing industries. South Korea’s C.M. Koo, Chairman, LS-Nikko, will also receive the Ankh Award for his role in developing a world class company in the smelting and refining segment of the industry. The awards will be presented at The Copper Club’s Annual Dinner, on June 5, 2013, at The Plaza Hotel in New York City. Attendees at this special event include industry leaders from the mining, refining and smelting, fabricating, manufacturing and financial services sectors from around the world.

The prestigious Ankh Award has been bestowed every year since 1962 to professionals who have positively impacted the copper industry. The Copper Club will also announce the 2013 recipients of their Educational Grants Program, which assists exceptional students in preparing for careers in fields related to maintenance and expansion of the copper industry. Each grant is $10,000, and is awarded to students who demonstrate academic excellence and financial need. To date, The Copper Club has provided nearly $1 million in scholarships to students to help ensure the future of copper.

Among the many accomplishments in Mr. Vann’s illustrious career, is the leveraged buyout Mr. Vann led in 1986 of Rea Magnet Wire Company from Alcoa; then in 2006, Mr. Vann with other Rea Magnet Wire Company executives completed the acquisition of Phelps Dodge Magnet Wire Company. This transaction transformed Rea in to the largest manufacturer of wire for electric motors and transformers in North America. In 2000 under Jim’s leadership Rea joined together with Tongling Jingda Special Magnet Wire Co. LTD. to establish several joint venture magnet wire companies which today hold the premier position in the magnet wire industry in China.

The Copper Club’s Chairman, Arthur Miele, said of the Copper Club Board of Directors selection of Jim Vann to receive the 2013 Ankh Award, “I have known Jim Vann professionally and personally for more than 25 years. His excellence in leadership, contribution to the industry and commitment to the community are exactly the attributes for which the Ankh award was created more than 50 years ago.”

Stuart Thorn, President, CEO of Southwire added, “During his career, Jim was a true leader, not just at Rea, but across the electrical industry. Jim consistently added a source of seasoned wisdom to our industry’s deliberations and initiatives. From acquiring new facilities, to entering China, to preparing his next generation of leadership, Jim always had the vision to achieve great things. Anyone who knows Jim is also a student of his – we all have learned so much about business and life, from the example he has set.”

“To join the legendary people in the copper business that have received the prestigious Copper Man of The Year award is the highlight of my career. I am extremely honored to be selected for this recognition by our industry,” said Jim Vann on being selected for the award.

To purchase tickets for this event, visit

About The Copper Club

The Copper Club was formed in 1944 to convene all participants in the copper industry. It is comprised of copper producers, fabricators, refiners, dealers, traders and merchants. The Copper Club seeks to promote the interests of the copper industry. By honoring those who have forged pathways in the industry and paving new paths for students working toward careers in the industry, The Copper Club ensures the past, present and future of copper.